Gallery of Student Work


The Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies BA(AS) is a four-year full-time curriculum. It provides an education that crosses the divide between Arts and Sciences. It is not only the first degree needed to qualify as an architect; but also provides an excellent general education that gives students the confidence to enter a number of other related fields. The course of study is centered on problem based learning in the design studio and is structured to foster a sense of community, develop deep knowledge of the discipline, and encourage creativity. Design programs in the studios are based on topical issues while encouraging a wide range of approaches to functional, environmental, and social challenges.

The BAAS program provides multiple opportunities for knowledge exchange within the community and in China, including a full term of study at the Faculty’s Shanghai Study Centre, study tours to foundational sites of Asian architecture and urbanism, and practical experience on real-world projects through the Faculty’s Community Projects Workshop. Courses in the program are offered in the areas of Architectural Design, History and Theory of Architecture, Technology, and Visual Communication.

The professional degree of Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies (BAAS) is recognized by the Hong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA), Architects Registration Board (ARB), Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and Commonwealth Association of Architects (CAA). Upon passing the Professional Assessment held by HKIA/ARB in Hong Kong, graduates are eligible to apply for admission as Members of HKIA and as Registered Architects.